Top 5 Leeds Rhinos matches (I have seen)


The new rugby league superleague season is now only 4 sleeps away, it will be my first season as a season ticket holder. As a 19 years old, I am not going to lie or think I’ve seen the best matches Leeds Rhinos and of course all those years before the name rhinos. But I think I’ve seen a few good matches over the short years.

5) Leeds V Bradford Bulls 2007 Millennium Magic

Sure it was technically not a fair win, sure Bradford should have won! But they didn’t,  mostly due to the referee. However, when you win such circumstances against your rival (then, now they are a little bit shit to be called our rival(joke)) make for a memorable match.

Not seen it? or want to relive the match? Watch the video below….

4. Leeds V St. Helens 2011 Grand Final

This years Grand final, and it was a good one. Two amazing tries, one scored and one made by Rob Burrow. Leeds looked out after 60 mins, but showed what they was made of and came back to win and be officially called champions of 2011.

3.  Warrington Wolves V Leeds 2011 Play off Semi Final

A great match that went to-and-fro. One of the most exciting matches I have ever watched. It was made sweeter by the fact most people gave us no chance of winning it.
Watch the highlight from  below.

2. Leeds V Melbourn Storm 2008 WCC

I might be a little biased about this game. Everything went good for me on this day. While there might have been Storm hanging over leeds (literally there was really bad weather that day, I’m not trying to make a bad pun) I had very good day. It was a Friday, and I was in the last lesson of my day at school, it was always a bad lesson for me. But I got taken out the lesson and told to wait at the schools reception. They did not tell me what was happening, and as you do I worried a lot. But, I soon found out that I’d been picked (due to a letter I wrote) to go on the trip to china, to represent the school and country at the youth science and technology expo. Later that day Leeds played Melbourn in leeds, and Leeds won and was crowned the best club in the world. I remember the rain pouring down and getting soaked in the trip back to the car, I remember it was tough and close game. Wish I could see it again; good day.

1. Leeds V Bradford 2004 Grand Final

The first championship win in 32 years, I might have only been 12 at the time, but I still felt how big of achievement it was and I’m very glad I got to be there to see it live. I think this experience probably cemented my love of rugby league and my love of the Leeds Rhinos.

Leave a Reply

