Leeds festival 2011 – My thoughts on the line up


Is this line up a hit or a miss?

A quick post just giving my thoughts on the recent Reading and Leeds line up announcement.

This year, unlike the last two I won’t getting a weekend ticket for the local music festival. I decided last year that i was not going to go for the weekend, but I did decide that i would most likely still be getting a day ticket.  I knew that unless they announced a-Amazing line up that this would be the case. So I waited for the announcement, Monday evening after i got home from work. And while it was leaked earlier i still waited to see if that was the correct.
I read carefully, looking at all the bands and decided it was not for me! While one of the headliners (Muse) are in my favorite bands, very few (I counted 4 ) would even make it in to the top 50. Those bands were White lines, the Offspring, 30 seconds to mars and Jimmy eat world.  The rest are in theses three categories;

  1. Bands i really dislike, My chemical romance (every song but that na-na-na-na na I kinda like that), Peter Doherty, panic at the disco and Bring me the Horizon.
  2. Bands I don’t mind but i hardly listen to, The Streets, The Strokes, Pulp, The naked and famous, Elbow (could actually be in my top 50; if I knew more of their songs), Enter Shikari, rise against, The pigeons detectives. There is more too.
  3. Lastly bands there is a few bands I have either never heard of not heard one song by them.

In summery, I love muse and I really like a few, but the rest I could not give shit about the rest.
So you know what I decided, a day ticket. I wanted to see Muse again so I will go on the Friday to see them. All this will save me quite a bit of money. There is the case that I can’t be bothered either.

Is this line up a hit or a miss? for me it more miss than a blind baseball trying to hit a ball from a wayward pitcher.

Other news of note
I’m currently reading the moon is a harsh mistress. Verdict so far – Poor

Had a driving lesson today went well

Buster (my dog) has finally gotten his bucket off his head (coincidently also called a buster) and he looks old self, minus half a jaw of course.

Leeds lost again taking the record to 3 wins to 3 losses, not the best start.

The ratings of Stargate universe keeps getting lower and lower. It really hurts me to say but this could be the end of the franchise (I think I will post something on this next month)

Nothing much happing on the writing front. Got a few good ideas down, some may see the light of day in some format some most likely won’t.

Leave a Reply

