Top 5 movies (adaptation)


It’s the end of the month’s and you know what that means, my top 5 list. I have decided to do this at the end of each month. There is only so many top 5 list I could do (not strictly true but there is only so many general list)so I’m going to do more specific top 5 list’s much like my first list which was just sci-fi books. So this month it’s movies, but only remakes of older movies and adaptation’s of books, comics, games (sadly non of those) and other material! Not all of these have I seen or read the source version but i know it was based on something and that they are bloody good films.

5: Jurassic Park

Hey you guys!

The book is on my to read pile, so I can’t compare it with the book, however as movie on it’s own merits it’s very enjoyable. Honestly (would i lie) I can’t think of one other movie is this good and has dinosaurs, I mean dinosaurs are cool because they just eat you no reasoning with a t-rex. I mean why the hell did evolution decide to turn them in to chickens!

4: Shawshank Redemption

Who should have been in the film!

Personally I feel it would have been a better film with these to actors in it! Based on the Stephen king short story Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption. Again I have not read the original material, it really is a damn good film. “Well made” is how I would describes it, while it is not what I would class as a classic on paper, it might be seen as a little slow. However when watching it you go in to that timeless zone that people go to when they are enjoying a film, something that does change after countless viewings
Where did Tim’s Robbins go after this film I have not seen in any thing after this, tell a lie I did see him in Zathura (I want to forget that, I’m sure he does too).

3: Watchmen

"on the watchtower"

For this one I can compare the film to the great graphic novel (a comic book). It is a great film, I do know some people think other wise, but their wrong. The setting, the music, the action and the story are all perfect in this film. Maybe it goes on too long and it’s a strange at times, then again the comic book is also very strange at times. It’s stays very true to source material, other than the end. Personally I liked fake interdemensional aliens more.

Time for a brake form the list for the worst movie adaptation of all of time!

Dune

Such a Gay film

Oh David lynch how did you take my favourite book and turn it in to a mess of poor nonsensical narration and strange homosexual themes. This film is infamous for have Sting in a stupid thong thing (see above). I like it when a film can go away from the original material, but you need to still stay true the essences or if not you better be a great film, but in this film instead of changing an idea to another idea. They keep the idea, do it another worse way which makes the films complex story make no sense There is to much narration in this film; narration to my mind has always been a poor and lazy way of moving the story along without actually showing it. I HATE THIS FILM :( it had so much potential. One good thing about it is that the special effects they are still quite cool.

2: Serenity

I actually love her :P

Based on the short lived TV show firefly (see: https://joelhopkins.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/top-5-tv-programs/) it apparently is what season 2 would have been, I really wish i could have seen it in a series because a lot of stuff happens in this film.  It has a lot of surprise along the way, i’m sure Joss Whedon would not have chosen all the story to have been in film form. It does still do it’s job by creating a semi satisfying and entertaining ending (well somewhat) to the story which had built up in 14 episodes.  How hot is Summer Glau, I have a such a large crush on her, hell don’t all male nerds have one?

1: Lord Of the Rings

I’m sure I don’t need to say much about this. Best movie trilogy , I think so! It top my list as i’m sure it will top lot of other list’s. A real epic of a film.

I did say i was not going to say much about it.

OTHER NEWS

Going out round wakefield (watch coppers) tonight for my friends 19th, looking forward to it :)

SNOW SNOW you cancelled my driving lesson
But you made the ground all pretty
But then people steeped on you
And you became a sludge
That i will slip and fall on
When i’m pissed

Leave a Reply

